Cruikshank Award

The award was established in 1995 in honor of Harold T. Cruikshank, who was a trustee, board chair and foundation director for more than 30 years. Recipients of the award are members of the ASL community who have distinguished themselves by extraordinary contributions and achievements in service to the School over a number of years.

From time to time, the Board of Trustees seeks nominations for the Cruikshank Award. All members of the ASL community are eligible, except for current employees and trustees. It is not necessarily awarded on an annual basis. When solicited, nominations may be sent to the secretary to the Board of Trustees, and should include the names of the nominee and the nominator, and the relationship between the two, as well as qualifications in terms of service to and engagement with the School.

Award recipients

1996  Paul Morton (ASL 1963-97)
1997  Colette Hubbard P ’96
1998  Charles Snodgrass P ’96 ’98 ’02
1999  Barbara & Warren Coloney P ’77 ’78 ’81
2001  Sally Webster (ASL 1974-99)
2004  Jane Deering P ’00 ’03
2005  David Newkirk P ’05 ’12
2008  Susan Wilen P ’92 ’96 ’01
2009  Margaret Grandy P ’93 ’96 (ASL 1985-2009)
2011  Farah Alaghband P ’11
2012  Mary Crowley P ’14 ’16
2013  Donna McClure P ’13 ’15
2014  Julie Carlin-Sasaki P ’12 ’14 & Maria Driano P ’14 ’18
2015  Hattie Hartman P ’15
2016  Bill Obenshain P ’92 ’92 


The ASL Strategic Plan was adopted in 2010, and identifies areas that are priorities for the School in the next three to five years. View a copy of the ASL Strategic Plan.

One Waverley Place
London NW8 0NP
United Kingdom
Tel: +44 (0)20 7449 1200
©2017 The American School in London    
:: Help :: Privacy Notice
Our mission is to develop the intellect and character of each student by providing an outstanding American education with a global perspective.
powered by finalsite