Upon leaving ASL
How do I take my documents and data with me when I leave ASL?
Apart from turning in your school-owned laptop, students and faculty who are leaving ASL will also lose access to their school Gmail and GoogleDrive accounts. Those services are generally terminated 30 days after you leave ASL. You'll also lose access to any service where you logged in using your Google credentials (like Canva or studentblogs.asl.org). Before you lose access to those services, there are some things you need to do in order to save your data and documents.
Your school laptop
Grade 5-8 students have two choices for getting content off of their ASL laptop onto a personal laptop or laptop at their new school.
- Students who have been using the Google Drive app to backup folders on their laptop should login to their ASL GoogleDrive account on their new device, navigate to the My Computers section, and then download the files that they want onto their new device.
- Alternately, students can manually copy files from their school laptop to an external hard drive*, USB stick*, or cloud storage option (DropBox or a personal GoogleDrive account, for example).
*If a student knows that they may be switching to a Windows computer, it's important that the external hard drive or USB stick is not formatted for Mac OS. Instead, any students who want to access their files on a Windows machine will need to get an external hard drive or USB stick and format it in MS-DOS (FAT) format. If students want to save music, photos, and/or movies from the Apple Music Store, Apple Photos, and iMovie, they will need to do the following:
- Music: manually drag the Apple Music folder onto the external hard drive.
- Photos: export all images out of Photos onto the external hard drive. Select the photos in the Photos application and use the Export option from the File menu.
- iMovie: Any projects students have in iMovie will need to be exported as well, since iMovie files can't be opened on Windows machines.
Google Drive
You can either migrate the contents of your ASL Google Drive to a personal Google Drive account, or you can download the files onto an external storage device, such as USB drive or external hard drive, and store in a safe location.
Once your ASL Google Drive account has been deactivated, you will no longer have access to the documents stored in your ASL Google account.
Option 1: Download files and folders using Google Takeout
Once you are logged in to your ASL GoogleDrive account, go to Google Takeout. By default, all of the sliders are on, so turn off the sliders for the services that you do not want to download. Once you click the Next button, choose the type and size of your archive and then how you want the download link to be delivered to you. Note: this service will only download files that are owned by your account. Any files or folders that have been shared with you that are owned by someone else will not be downloaded.
Option 2: Download files and folders manually
For any files or folders you wish to export do the following:
Right-click (or CTRL-click) on the files/folders listed in your ASL Google Drive account and select the Download option. Folders are exported as a zipped archive into your Downloads folder. Individual files are exported into the following formats by default:
- Documents as Microsoft Word
- Drawings as JPEG
- Presentations as Microsoft Powerpoint
- Spreadsheets as Microsoft Excel
- Forms are not available for export
Option 3: Use the Multcloud service to transfer copies of your files to a personal account
Go to MultCloud and sign up for a new account (don't use your ASL email address). You will then be able to link your ASL GoogleDrive account to your personal GoogleDrive account and have your files copied over to your personal account.
Option 4: Share from to your personal account
- Move any files in your ASL Google Drive that you wish to keep into a folder called To Export.
- You then need share this folder with your personal Google Drive account.
- Now log into your personal Google Drive account and you should now see a folder called To Export.
IMPORTANT: Those files that you have just shared with your personal GoogleDrive will become unavailable once your ASL Google account is deactivated. It is therefore very important you perform the following steps prior to that happening:
- Navigate to the folder called To Export and open it.
- Inside this folder, you will see files that do not list you as the owner (easier to see in list view). Make copies of all these files — notice how you are now the owner of these copies. Don't forget to check inside any subfolders.
- Confirm the process has been successful and that all the chosen files have copied so that your personal account is the owner of those copies.
- Finally, you must move those copies into your Drive (and out of the "To Export" folder which is in the Shared with Me section of your Drive). Otherwise, when your ASL GoogleDrive account is deactivated, all of those copies will disappear along with that shared folder even though you own them.
Canva
If you don't already have one, go to Canva.com and sign up for a free personal account using a personal email address (like Gmail, Outlook, iCloud, etc.). Do not use your ASL email address for this new account.
Then, log in to your ASL Canva account and follow the instructions on this Canva help page to share any projects from your ASL Canva account to your personal Canva account.
Adobe Creative Cloud
When you leave the school, your student Adobe Creative Cloud account will be deactivated, and any data left on it will be permanently deleted.
Because Photoshop and Lightroom store data differently, use the instructions below to ensure you don't lose your photos, edits, or projects.
For Photoshop & General Cloud Files, you can use Adobe's Automated Cloud Transfer service. Adobe provides an automated tool to transfer documents saved to the Adobe Cloud (such as Photoshop Cloud Documents (.psdc), Libraries, and Express files) directly to a personal account. Follow these steps:
- Create a personal Adobe account: Go to Adobe.com and sign up for a free account using a personal email address.
- Open the transfer portal: Go to graduation.adobe.com (or filetransfer.adobe.com).
- Log in: Sign in with your school account first, then log in with your personal account when prompted.
- Select and Transfer: Use the file picker to select the projects you want to copy over. Adobe will transfer these files into your personal account as a free Creative Cloud membership (which includes 2GB of storage).
Note: If you have more than 2GB of files, they will still transfer, but your personal account's cloud storage will be full, meaning you won't be able to add new files until you clear space or upgrade to a paid personal plan.
Saving your Lightroom photos and edits
Lightroom files cannot be automatically transferred using the migration portal tool. You must manually export them to keep your photos and the edits you made to them.
- Open Lightroom on your computer.
- Select the photos or albums you want to keep.
- Click the Share/Export icon (the square with an arrow pointing up).
- Choose Export... and set the Original + Settings format. This ensures that both your original photograph and all the editing steps you took are saved together.
- Save these files onto an external hard drive or personal cloud drive.
ASL blog (studentblogs.asl.org)
The ASL student blogs are Wordpress blogs, so it's quite easy to export your blog to a file and then import it into your own free Wordpress blog. Just follow these steps:
- Login to your ASL blog at https://studentblogs.asl.org/
- Navigate to your blog's Dashboard.
- Go to the Tools menu and choose the Export option.
- Under Choose what to export, make sure the All content option has been selected.
- Click the Download Export File button at the bottom of the page.
- Save the resulting .xml file somewhere safe.
Once you have created your own personal blog somewhere else, you can then import that .xml file to get the content from your ASL blog into your new blog.