Board of Trustees

The American School in London is governed by the Board of Trustees, which oversees the school’s institutional affairs, governance and finances, including fundraising, but delegates to the Head of School responsibility for the day-to-day administration, programing and policies.

The Board oversees the school’s adherence to its mission; appoints, supports and works closely with the Head of School; and participates in periodic strategic planning for the growth and evolution of the School.

The Board is organized into seven working committees: Admin/Finance, Advancement, Buildings & Grounds, DEI, Investment, Trustee Affairs, and Executive. The approximately 25 board members serve three-year renewable terms. Up to five new board members are appointed each year for their diverse range of talents, skill sets, perspectives, experience, demographics across all school divisions, tenure at the School and active school engagement; all of which support the School to fulfill its promise and achieve its mission.

In 1995, the Cruikshank Award was established in honor of Harold T. Cruikshank.